With the implementation of automatic refreshes, we now need to send you the Success/Error report emails if you choose to receive them. This is the only reason why we need to be able to send email on your behalf. We will only use this permission to send emails to yourself, and (in case there is an unexpected error during your data refresh) – to our support so that we could quickly debug and fix the issue.
We will never use this ability to send emails to any third party, and never share your email address with anyone, we will never use your email address for any unsolicited emails other than product updates every once in a while, which you can opt out from.